top of page

New Teacher Profiles

Entering into a new school always evokes intense nerves whether it is a teacher or student. You don’t know what to expect because of the endless possibilities that may turn out. The following profiles are for South Doyle’s very own new teachers and their expectations, fears and other credentials:

Name: Jaclyn Ault

Subject: Math

College attended: Tennessee Tech

Goals: “For my students, the basic goal to be successful and to get through this class. For me personally, to not let the first year stress to keep from being a good teacher to my kids and not let stuff outside the classroom keep me from being good to them.”

Fears: “Honestly that the kids wouldn’t like me…that they wouldn’t respect me because I am so young. Just being able to reach them on all different levels.”

Reason for starting to teach: “Because I love kids and I like working with teenagers. They’re still needy, but not so needy that I have to tie their shoe or wipe their nose.”

Name: Karly Stache

Subject: Pre-Calculus and Finite

College attended: North Greenville University

Goals: “I always want everyone to make an A. That’s always the big goal, but more than that I want everyone to come out hating math a little less.

Fears: “Well I look like I’m a student so I wanted everyone to know I’m a teacher. That was one concern I guess.”

Reason for starting to teach: “Well I was a math major in college. Straight math. I wanted to do engineering but then I realized I didn’t like the side of engineering that I was going to be going into. I realized that I liked tutoring more than anything else so I decided I wanted to teach.”

Name: Carol Vinson

Subject: Art College attended: University of Tennessee and Johnson University

Goals: “For students, I would like to see their art skill grow. I would like to see their approach to the world begin to open up, to be curious about the world around them and to be interested in lots of different things than just the things that they are familiar with. As a teacher, my goal is to present art in such a way that it is engaging, but still a challenge for my students.”

Fears: “That my middle school humor would be too goofy for high school students. Also that I am having to write a completely new curriculum. I wanted to make sure that my lessons weren’t either too hard or too easy for a high school level.”

Reason for starting teaching: “I was a graphic designer for five years. I worked at Bike Athletic, which was a company that made sports gear like shirts, helmets and that kind of stuff. I worked in the art department, but I was not very happy with that job and I had lots of friends that were teachers. When I was around them I realized I wanted to do something I felt that had longer lasting impact than just making money for somebody else. I was very comfortable with teachers. From the first day I quit my graphic design job and started subbing I knew that was what I was supposed to do.”

Name: Kimberlee Spooner

Subject: Chemistry College attended: Cal State

Goals: “To get to know my kids and help them reach high expectations so that they find chemistry fun because it can be a hard subject. I just want them to relate it in a way that it makes them remember it. Even if it is hard its something that they come away feeling they can be successful, but also amazed at some of the things chemistry can do.”

Fears: “Since I come from California I wondered if the kids might find me too different. Maybe not be able to relate to me just because they found it funny that I came from California.”

Reason for starting to teach: “Because I like to help kids, I like to be around kids, I just like it when they get the concept. It will help them do better in life and help them move onto the next level hopefully.”


No tags yet.
bottom of page